Almost out of my head

There’s always that one song that you just can’t get out of your head. It’s called an “earworm.”

The song I’ve recently had stuck in my head is Twenty One Pilot’s cover of My Chemical Romance’s “Cancer.”

I’m a huge nerd for MCR, so when I saw that TOP did a cover, I had to give it a listen to see if it was as good as the original.

It was.

If you haven’t listened to either song, I highly suggest you go listen to them because they’re both awesome. You’ll probably find me in my bed with them on repeat*.

In the past I’ve had dorky, music-nerd songs that have been playing constantly in my head. For the past two or three years (yes, years) I’ve had to play Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9, 4th movement, conducted by Gustavo Dudamel on YouTube.

I can’t help it. It’s just so good. I first heard it in played at my high school and thought it was absolutely spectacular, and then I forgot about it until I took a music class at my college and it blew my mind again and I listened to it over and over (and I still listen to it over and over).

—Side note: if you haven’t seen Dudamel conduct, he is amazing and has a great hair. This is him –> dudamel Love it.

There’s always a love/hate relationship when a song gets lodged in your noggin. You love the song and sing it constantly, but then people around you start punching you for humming the tune so often. I think it’s worth it because music is awesome.

What songs have been stuck in your head?

 

*mostly playing MCR and crying because they aren’t together anymore
Leave a Reply

